LovemyMartel

3-2-1 Reduced Fat Carrot Cake March 23, 2011

Filed under: Recipies — LovemyMartel @ 1:37 pm

I did say REDUCED fat CAKE. That’s right the cake, not the frosting is reduced fat. I’ll tell you what, it’s the best carrot cake I’ve ever had, though.

Three cups of flour

Three eggs

Two cups shredded carrots

2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups (adding in 1/2 cup increments, sometimes it doesn’t take all two cups, sometimes it needs a bit more) APPLESAUCE!! This takes place of the oil and will leave you with the most moist cake ever!

One cup white sugar

One cup brown sugar

1 half (does that count? haha) tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt (dont omit this!)

You can add walnuts, pecans if you like. I dont.

Mix dry ingredients. Mix wet ingredients. Mix dry ingredients with wet ingredients. Once smooth, add carrots by hand. Bake at 350 for 30-45 minutes, depending on oven. I like to bake in 2 round cake pans so I can mak 3 layers of cake and the most delicious cream cheese frosting ever

P.S.  Don’t like carrot cake? I use this SAME EXACT recipie for zucchini bread, omitting 1/2 cup of the brown sugar.  I also omit the baking POWDER. Don’t believe me? Try it. And for an extra special treat, I add mini chocolate chips to my zuchini bread. It’s wonderful!

 CREAM CHEESE FROSTING

No butter in this one, so that cuts back.. a bit!

(2) 8 oz packages of cream cheese, room temp

2 tsp vanilla

 1+ cup confectioner’s sugar (depending on how sweet you like it. I dont like mine very sweet at all, so I go very shy on the sugar)

Cream the cream cheese with a blender. Add vanilla. Slowly add confectioner’s sugar until smooth. Enjoy!

 

One Response to “3-2-1 Reduced Fat Carrot Cake”

  1. Alicia Says:

    yum. Thanks for the recipe 🙂 I love carrot cake!


Leave a Reply

