LovemyMartel

Cubano Pressed Sandwich March 23, 2011

Filed under: Recipies — LovemyMartel @ 10:21 am

My husband and I’s new favorite sandwich! Who knew it could be SO easy and so delicious! I saw this on the Food Network a few weeks back and it’s all I could think about until I tried it. Of course, I’ve changed their recipe to our tasting. I think you’ll enjoy this quick, delicious sandwich!

1 loaf of fresh french bread (I just get mine from Giant Eagle- be sure it has a nice crust on it)

1/2 pound of deli ham

1/2 pound provolone cheese

GOOD dill pickles (I use Claussen [found in the refrigerated section], not Vlasic. There’s no comparison in flavor. If you love pickles, you will never be the same once you use these)

Yellow mustard

1/2 pound of pork (the orig. recipe calls for a pork roast, cut thin, but when I did this, I found the pork was dry and flavorless. I recommend using left over pulled pork (see recipe for that on another blog) without the sauce. It is MUCH better)

Cut the french loaf in half, down the middle. Slice the bread up the side, but don’t cut all the way through. Spread both sides of the inside of the bread with a generous amount of yellow mustard. Layer in the ham, pork and cheese. Slice your pickles thin and place them on top of the cheese. Close your sandwich, butter the outside of both sides of the bread and place in a Panini press (if you don’t have a Panini press, heat a large skillet over medium high heat, put the sandwiches in and place a cookie sheet on top of the sandwiches. Place as much weight on top of the cookie sheet as you can to press your sandwiches). Cook each sandwich for about 6 minutes on each side, watching carefully that the bread crisps but doesn’t burn and the cheese is ! Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

