LovemyMartel

Pulled Pork March 23, 2011

Filed under: Recipies — LovemyMartel @ 10:34 am

We had a house warming party last year with about 70 people give or take and I needed something tasty but managable to make for a large crowd that I could do myself. Pulled pork is was. I had my husband order some FRESH pork from the local butcher (Good old Kiko’s in Minerva) and our life changed!

This recipie can be made in bulk or just for two.. just depends on roast size! I usually get a 3-4 lb roast because that is what is usually available at the store.

3-4 pound pork roast with the words “Shoulder and/or Butt” somewhere in the title. Do NOT use a loin. You will be very disappointed. Bones, no bones, it doesn’t matter. Just not  a loin.

1 tsp of each: garlic powder and onion powder

Salt and pepper

1/ 2 large sweet onion, cut into thin slices

1 cup water (more or less depending on your crock pot)

4 ounces beer ( I just use whatever is left over in the house)

Put all in the crock pot for 8 hours on low. When it’s done it will litterally be falling apart and you won’t even have to pull.

The above is for PLAIN pulled pork (could be used in the cuban pressed sandwich)

If it’s BBQ you seek (which I do!), use the same recipie, but add the following before cooking:

1 fresh garlic glove, chopped

2 tsp paprika

2 tsp brown sugar

2 tsp yellow mustard

Serve with your favorite bbq sauce (I reccommend Sweet Baby Rays)

Also, to make it a PERFECT sandwich in my mind, I serve it on a bun, topped with my home made cole slaw. It’s amazing!

 

Leave a Reply

