LovemyMartel

The search for a perfect Key Lime Pie begins. April 1, 2011

Filed under: Recipies — LovemyMartel @ 10:10 am

 That’s right. I have stumbled across what I think, may be the only pie I truly crave, want to eat and actually enjoy. Sure, my mother-in-law makes an absolutley delicious coconut cream pie, but I never actually WANT pie. If it’s there, I’ll eat it.

So, if I don’t enjoy pie, why would I start the search for an ultimate recipie for Key Lime Pie? Good question. The answer is simple: I have seen, time after time, on the Food Network, people raving about how delicious a Key Lime pie is. The other day, Paula Dean made a Key Lime Mouse Pie and I was drawn in.

Skeptical of the flavor, I realllly scaled back her recipie: hers called for graham cracker crust, fresh key lime juice, cream cheese, white chocolate and on and on. I’d never tasted Key Lime before, so I didn’t want to jump completley in over my head.

What I did was went to the store, got heavy whipping cream to make homemade whipped cream, some cream cheese and (gasp) a powdered Key Lime pie filling. I made the homemade whipped cream. I made the pie filling. I beat the cream cheese. I folded them all together. I dumped this mix into a pie dish with no crust, just to see the flavors.

But wait, back up. Did I mention to you that when I stuck my finger into the powdered (prepared) key lime pie filling, I thought I died and went to heaven? How could I leave that out. Well I did. It was the most amazing thing I had ever tasted. It was all I could do to proceed with mixing it with the cream cheese and whipped cream… but I did.

To my extreme suprise- I ruined the pie. It was okay mixed with the other stuff. It just tastes like lime flavored cream cheese…. it is such a subtle hint of key lime pie in the back ground, it teases me. I take a bite and just wish I had more key lime flavor.

Well, it’s time to change that. Over the next few weeks, I will be testing recipies to find what I think is the best. I am so excited.

Once I perfect my pie, I’m turning it into  a cake.

I LOVE KEY LIME!

I can’t believe I’ve been missing out on this my whole life…

 

Leave a Reply

