LovemyMartel

Kani (Crab) Salad- Japanese Restaurant Style! April 5, 2011

Filed under: Recipies — LovemyMartel @ 1:51 pm

My favorite when we go to a hibachi place or out for sushi. What is not my favorite, is the price charged for cheap ingredients. After some trial and error, I have managed to prepare what is very, very close to my favorite Kani salad, which is served at a Japanese Steakhouse in my town. It’s simple, it’s delicious and sometimes I’d rather have this salad than anything else on the menu. At $6-$10 a pop for about 1/2 cup of salad, I HAD to figure out how to make it myself. So I did!

This makes a TONNNNN of salad, trust me. I’d say at least 4 servings. A little of this salad goes a long way

1 cucumber, peeled and seeded

1 package of  the imatation crab stuff, shred style (what else are you going to do with it!?)

1/3 cup mayonaise

2 tsp (plus or minus depending how spicy you like it) Siracha

2 tsp water

1/3 cup panko bread crumbs

Julianne the cucumbers. Each piece should be no longer than 3 inches long.

Bread the crab up so it is shredded (it will look julianned as well)

Mix the mayo, water and 1 tsp of Siracha. Taste it first! If its not spicy enough, add a little more Siracha. Remember- you can always add more, but you can’t take it out!! Depending on your mayo, you may need to add a touch more water. This dressing shouldn’t really taste too mayo-y. It may need a touch more to thin it out.

Mix the cucumber and crab.

About 5 minutes before serving, add in the dressing just to coat. DON’T OVER DRESS! This isn’t a soggy salad. It will be gross if over dressed.

Right before serving, mix in the Panko so it stays crispy.

Enjoy! It’s so refreshing!

 

Leave a Reply

