LovemyMartel

My favorite “Fried” Rice April 5, 2011

Filed under: Recipies — LovemyMartel @ 2:13 pm

It’s in quotation marks because it’s not really fried at all. At least not the way you’d think.

So, I purchased a large quantity of Uncle Bens Ready Rice in the pouches last week when they were on sale for $1 a bag (a steal, I know). What I’ve come to find is they are still a little hard, even after cooking per their directions. I dont enjoy crispy rice. Sooo, what I did was:

Chopped up 1/4 sweet onion. I cooked this in a little margarine for about 10 minutes, or until translucent with slightly brown edges (NOT carmalized).

I added a pack of Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice to this, in the frying pan, over Med High Heat. I then chopped up some fresh garlic and added that. I then added about 1/2 cup of chicken broth (water works), just to soften the rice. But I wasn’t done. I threw in some frozen peas, some fresh mushrooms and a little salt and pepper.

I cooked it until it was tender and the veggies were cooked.

Simple, tasty and MUCH healthier than fried.

 

Leave a Reply

